Madhya Pradesh Pollution Control Board

Emergency Response Centre

Paryawaran Parisar, E-5, Arera Colony, Bhopal -462 016 (M.P.)
Ph: 0755-2469180, PBX: 2464428, Fax: 0755-2463742 E-mail: ercmppcb@mp.nic.in Web: www.ercmp.nic.in

No. /225/HOPCB/ERC/2022

Bhopal, Dt: 02/02/2022

To.

The Regional Officer
Regional Office,
M.P. Pollution Control Board,
Bhopal/Indore/Gwalior/Jabalpur/Mandideep/
Sagar/Chhindwara/Singrauli/Satna/ Shahdol
Guna/Dewas/Katni/ Dhar/Ujjain/Rewa

Sub: Implementation status of Chemical Accidents (EPPR) Rules, 1996.

As you are aware, under the Chemical Accidents (EPPR) Rules, 1996 the State Government has constituted State Crisis Group headed by the Chief Secretary. On the same lines, as per provision under Rule 8, it is required to constitute District Crisis Group and Local Crisis Group for carrying out the functions for proper management of chemical emergencies.

The above stated provisions are meant for the safety of people and the environment by preventing accidents and limiting their consequences. It is important for all the target groups to be alert so that any fall out of any chemical mishap is immediately tackled in a coordinated and scientific manner. It is hoped that all the regulatory provisions, including constitution of DCG and LCG, are being complied. In view of this it is requested to provide following information of area under your jurisdiction within 15 days time for review and record.

- (1) Names of major accident hazard (MAH) units, in accordance with Rule 2 (g), coming under your jurisdiction and not available on https://erc.mp.gov.in/Home/HazardUnits, alongwith quantity of chemicals handled by them.
- (2) Status of district crisis groups (DCG) alongwith address and contact number of members of each DCG. (refer Rule 8 (a).
- (3) Status of local crisis groups (LCG) alongwith address and contact number of members of each LCG. (refer Rule 8 (b).

Member Secretary

Copy to:

1. The Unit Heads, M.P. Pollution Control Board, Bhopal for information and necessary action.

(A.A.Mishra) Member Secretary